Pratibha Singh

Card image cap

Pratibha Singh

NamePratibha Virbhadra Singh
Nick NameMaharani
DOB16 June 1956
(Age 67 Yr. )

Personal Life

Education Bachelor of Arts
Caste Rajput
Religion Hinduism
Nationality Indian
Profession Politician
Birth Place Junga, Shimla,  Himachal Pradesh, India

Physical Appearance

Height 5 feet 2 inch
Eye Color Dark Brown
Hair Color Salt & Pepper



Father- Late Hitendra Sen
Mother- Late Shanta Devi

Marital Status Married

   Virbhadra Singh 


Son- Vikramaditya Singh 
Daughter- Aparajita Singh&

Pratibha Singh is an Indian politician from Himachal Pradesh and a Member of the Indian Parliament.

She is the widow of Virbhadra Singh, who was elected the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on six occasions. She represents the Mandi constituency of Himachal Pradesh and is a member of the Indian National Congress.

Personal life

Pratibha Singh was born on 16 June 1956 in Shimla, Himachal Pradesh. She married Virbhadra Singh in 1985. She is his second wife. Virbhadra Singh's daughter from his first marriage, Abhilasha Kumari, served as a judge in Gujarat. Virbhadra Singh's son from his second marriage to Pratibha Singh, Vikramaditya Singh, serves as Member of Legislative Assembly from Shimla Rural constituency.

Political career

Pratibha Singh gained a seat in the Lok Sabha which is the lower house of the Parliament of India in the Indian general elections of 2004 by defeating Maheshwar Singh. In the 2013 (By Poll) elections, she was again elected from the same seat as well as in 2021.

Positions held

2004 - 2009

Elected to 14th Lok Sabha

  • Member, Committee on social Justice and Empowerment
  • Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism
  • Member, Committee on Public Undertakings
2013 - 2014Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
2021 - 2024

Elected to 17th Lok Sabha

  • Member, Committee on Education, Women, Children, Youth and Sports

Electoral Performances

YearElectionPartyConstituency NameResultVotes gainedVote share%MarginRef
200414th Lok Sabha Indian National Congress Mandi Lok SabhaWon3,57,62353.41%66,566 
2013 (Bye-Election)15th Lok SabhaWon3,53,49260.71%1,36,727 
201416th Lok SabhaLost3,22,96844.46%39,856 
2021 (Bye-Election)17th Lok SabhaWon3,65,65049.23%8,766